Falling Behind…

Miso CSA Stir Fry

It’s only been three weeks, but I’m already falling behind on my CSA. It’s funny because for weeks leading up to my choosing the farm share, I was given plenty of warnings about this “burden”. But it seems pretty silly for me to complain about having such great ingredients for my meals, so I won’t. My fridge is stocked with all this great local organic produce and I’m not going to let it go to waste. 

So to catch up in time for this coming Thursday’s pick up, I grabbed for my wok and got to cooking. I know I seem like a wok over-enthusiast but it’s amazing how quickly you can whip up an amazing meal managing to highlight the crunch and the vibrant flavors of fresh produce. This stir fry had the spring onions, pungent garlic, and the swiss chard from last Thursday’s bundle with a few additions of my own. Chopped portobello, shredded napa cabbage, and some local pork sausage added great heartiness to the meal that was finished off with my new favorite ingredient, miso.

I’ve been trying a bunch of different varieties but the white miso I just found in China town is so rich in flavor. And if you like the soup, there is no reason to not buy some miso for your fridge. It may very well become one of your favorite condiments.

So after a huge plate of the stir fry for dinner, along with some leftovers for lunch I’m getting back on track. And if I needed any more motivation, tonight may be where I find it. For my birthday back in April, Emily gave me the perfect present: a dinner at Blue Hill at Stone Barns. I hate to set unreasonable expectations but to say that I’m excited for this meal would be a ridiculous understatement. At this embodiment of “farm to table”, menu’s are replaced by a list of fresh farmed ingredients that the chefs use to create your meal, one delicious dish at a time. I can’t wait!

One Response to Falling Behind…

  1. Joshyq says:

    I will gladly take any food you do not eat, I am sort of kicking myself in the butt for not doing the CSA share, it would have paid for all of my deliveries!

Leave a comment