A Comfort Classic

Chicken Tortilla Soup

It’s been a whirlwind of a few weeks! And with the Holidays around the corner, it’s looking like it’s better to keep on spinning. But with all the good stuff going on, Vacation, the Juice Bar, etc., I’ve been limited once again in my cooking time. That is with the exception of our amazing and massive Thanksgiving Feast! A side note: this make ahead turkey recipe will not only blow your mind, it will change your day of Thanksgiving cooking forever. So delicious!

But this past weekend, when soup felt like the perfect Sunday Supper, I was taken back to one of my originals. No, this chicken tortilla soup does not have a recipe. Not because I didn’t write one down, but because it never ends up being the same. Yet, in one way, it remains a constant. This was one of the first meals I fell in love with making. A big batch of this should have lasted me and my college roommates at least a week, but loading our bowls and topping with cheese, sour cream, and some good conversation, we ate more tortilla soup than seemingly possible. Sure it’s delicious: chicken, peppers, tomatoes, corn, black beans, etc. But for me, this soup goes beyond taste. It is comfort at it’s finest!

 

Leave a Reply

