Find of the Week: Sweet Potato Greens

This Week's Bounty

I don’t know how many times I’ve said, “this is the greatest time of year to shop at the farmer’s market” but here it comes again…

In all honesty though, if it wasn’t for my limited patience with people, I could spend hours at the farmers market on a Saturday. It’s amazing to see how much more is available on the weekend and how many more stands are set up. And as we exit the summer and enter the fall, full steam ahead, the produce is really inspiring. I may have gone a bit overboard this week.

But one item I’m most thrilled to have discovered…sweet potato greens. More and more, select stands have 1 or 2 burner set ups cooking away some of their more unique produce. And when I tried the sautéed sweet potato greens at one farm stand, I was instantly hooked; sweet and slightly bitter and really frickin delicious. And when sautéed and combined with roasted spaghetti squash and tomatoes and then baked under some fresh mozzarella, I enjoyed them even more!

Stuffed and Baked Spaghetti Squash

This was the first time I’ve come across the sweet potato greens…anyone else have these guys before?

Leave a Reply

