This one’s for you Gilly!

Zucchini Bread and Muffins

Last year I became obsessed with baking zucchini bread. Partially because I love the stuff but mainly because the farm share was providing me enough of the green squash for a family of ten. But I don’t think I ever got around to posting the recipe I follow. And you’ll notice I didn’t say “my recipe”. When it comes to baking, I never take credit for anything….

SimplyRecipes is one of the greatest recipe sites I’ve ever used. I’ve never had any complaints and I find that their explanations are extremely easy to follow. In this case, I’ve modified the recipe just a touch to fit my specific preferences but no matter what, you can’t go wrong with a good zucchini bread!

Zucchini and Walnut Bread

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 cups grated fresh zucchini
  • 1 cup melted unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • Pinch salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix together the sugar and eggs. Mix in the grated zucchini and then the melted butter. Sprinkle baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour and mix well. Sprinkle in the cinnamon and mix. Fold in the nuts and divide the batter equally between 2 buttered 5 by 9 inch loaf pans. Bake for 1 hour (check for doneness at 50 minutes) or until a wooden pick inserted in to the center comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Turn out onto wire racks to cool thoroughly.

One Response to This one’s for you Gilly!

  1. Gilly says:

    YES!!!! Thank you, Ricky! I’ll be making this this weekend!

Leave a Reply

