Potato Skins!

Roasted Broccoli and Feta Potato Skins

Last week was a pretty low on the food production front. With Em out-of-town for the bulk of the week, I found myself eating very little of my own food. But after another great trip to the farmer’s market this weekend I had an idea that would be perfect to get back into the swing of things…

Are you a fan of potato skins? You’ve got to be right? What could be bad about a crispy potato with cheddar cheese, bacon, scallions, and sour cream? Well, rather than repeating what we all know is delicious I decided to make my own riff on the favorite appetizer. I stuffed my halved and scooped out potatoes with rosemary, blanched broccoli (awesome purple variety from the market), and some feta cheese. I read an article last week describing how the easiest way to love broccoli is by roasting it. And it’s so true! The flavor is amazing, and the crispiness of the florets makes it a perfect side, snack or topping. In this case, the blanched broccoli finishes being cooked in the oven as the cheese melts and the potatoes crisp as everything comes together perfectly.

These were really amazing and extremely simple. I rarely touch my microwave but ten minutes on “potato” mode seemed like a much better option than an hour with the oven on. Once the potatoes are cooked through, you simply slice them in half, remove some of the potato filling and load them up before crisping them up in the oven. So for a quick meal when you are in a time crunch, or for when you are cooking for a crowd, these skins are your savior. But you might want to make a bunch of these if you are feeding a group. They are gonna go fast!

One Response to Potato Skins!

  1. nlag says:

    Yum! Love the idea for the combo! I’ll have to break out of my baked-potato rut and top them with some new fixins.

Leave a Reply

