Summer Hash and My Niece: Both pretty awesome!

Pan Seared Fluke with Summer Hash

I can’t believe it’s already August. This summer is just flying by in large part to all of the amazing weekends we’ve had. But while we’ve been living it up, my attempt at making the farmer’s market my go to shopping experience has been faltering. That is until this weekend when I was finally in town and pumped to see what was new in Union Square.

It’s an amazing time to be farmer’s market shopping. The variety of fresh produce is absurd. With all of the vibrant colors and the hoards of people, it’s quite easy to get distracted. But with my niece in tow, my brother and I decided to pick up a few essentials, including some amazing LI sea scallops, sweet as candy cherry tomatoes, and a few beautiful ears of corn for our dinner. Knowing that I wanted to hit up the Stuy Town market the next day, we kept the shopping to a minimum, rushed home with our purchases and sleeping baby to get to cooking! These scallops were unbelievable. And since the woman behind the stand offered me up one completely raw (for free-Thank you!) before purchasing them, I knew all it would take was some simple seasoning and some of those fresh veggies to make a wonderful meal.

My Niece is Cooler than Me!

After an awesome visit from my niece and a night out in Brooklyn, I made it over to the Stuy Town Green Market first thing on Sunday morning. While this version is much smaller, the shopping experience is a hell of a lot calmer. Which isn’t the worst thing in the world while shopping hungover. And you know what else isn’t so bad for a hangover? Raw clams and a clam bake being offered up by the fish stand for free. What’s with all these folks giving out their amazing seafood for free! Unbelievable!

This time around I ended up with a beautiful side of fluke (the same fish we never catch when we go fishing!), some hot peppers, zucchini, mustard greens, and some DiPaola Farms turkey sausage. The spicy sausage reminded me how much I love the combination of pork and seafood. It inspired this summer hash and seared fluke brimming with diced zucchini, corn, and tomatoes packed with that lovely turkey sausage. What an amazing Sunday dinner and what an amazing weekend!

 

One Response to Summer Hash and My Niece: Both pretty awesome!

  1. nlag says:

    Your meal for us was a high point of my summer eating. You are a whiz in the kitchen. Loved your flavor combo. XXOO

Leave a Reply

