Anchovy Vinaigrette…Better than a Birdie

Chickpea, Potato and Romaine with Anchovy Vinaigrette

Hope everyone had a good weekend!

I’m in full blown summer mode these days. The more time I can spend outside the better! So along with a few of my close friends, I’ve stumbled into the wonderful game of golf. I’ve definitely been having a blast, but thank god my food is a hell of a lot better than my golf game. But as my buddy just said, “it’s all about that one great shot”.

This might be a stretch but I’d like to say salad is a lot like my golf game. It’s good enough to be a part of your summer repertoire but 90% of the time it’s pretty uninspiring. Now I’ve always been a salad lover but even I will admit, the stuff can be pretty boring. It’s why most people have thirteen salad dressings in their fridge and why the salad dressing aisle in the grocery store is one of the more absurd things I’ve ever seen. It’s all about the homemade dressings folks! Trust me, it’s amazing how many varieties you can make as long as you have the basics. And who doesn’t have oil, vinegar, mustard, and some honey.

This anchovy dressing is like that one great putt I had on Saturday. Actually that’s not true. It’s much better! This is a great riff on a typical caesar dressing. As you’ll notice, the major difference here is in how light this dressing is compared to the caesar. It’s packed with flavor and worked perfectly with this potato, chickpea, and romaine salad! Enjoy!

Anchovy Salad Dressing:

5 Anchovy Filets

Juice of 1 Lemon

1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 tsp of Dijon Mustard

1 tbsp Honey

1 Garlic Clove (minced)

1 tsp Chopped Fresh Rosemary

Mince the rosemary, garlic, and anchovies into a fine paste. In a small mixing bowl, whisk all of the ingredients into the paste and keep chilled until serving!

Leave a Reply

