Silver Caterers: Just Can’t Get Enough…

Grilled Lamb Chops with Asparagus

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten all philosophical but last night reminded me just how much I love cooking for others. One of my more consistent clients had me come up with a summer night dinner party for four with only two parameters: it had to be light and fresh and had to include these amazing lamb chops they purchase up by their apartment. With some fresh rosemary from my garden and some minced lemon zest taking care of the grilled lamb, all I needed was some seasonal vegetables as my inspiration.

I’ll be honest; I’ve never been a huge fan of chilled soups. But I think I figured out my issue. If the soup is truly cold, it’s messes with my mind. It just doesn’t seem right. But when the same soup is just south of room temperature, the flavors can really shine without confusing you (or me at least me). So my “chilled” pea soup (recipe tomorrow) was a perfect starter for the patio meal packed with fresh herbs, onions, carrots, and of course peas. This one couldn’t be more simple and delicious!

As for the main course, I knew I wanted to showcase some of the asparagus that’s available these days. With the grill already fired up, the charred stalks were a perfect compliment to the lamb. And a grilled zucchini, tomato, and feta salsa added some serious brightness and energy to the meal. This was one of the proudest dishes I’ve ever put on the table for them. Everything was in perfect balance!

Patio Set Up

So I know to some it may be crazy, but I just can’t get enough of a night like last. As someone who loves to entertain (just need to find a bigger apartment to do so), it’s an absolute pleasure to spend an evening cooking for some really appreciative folks. I’m looking forward to more nights like these soon!

 

Leave a Reply

