Silver Caterers: Back in the Game

Bruschetta Board - Homemade Ricotta and Tomato

What a fun weekend! As you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t been catering events nearly as much as I had been. But with two big parties to feed this weekend, it was awesome to get back into the groove. And to spice it up a bit for the first event, a wonderful bridal shower, I came up with an interesting menu concept…

Rather than suggesting dishes or requesting favorite foods from the bride to be, I simply asked for 8 words; 4 foods and 4 others. Those 8 words would dictate the menu and with Goat Cheese, Beef, Risotto, Baguette, Bright, Unexpected, Crunchy, and Refreshing as my triggers I had quite the time coming up with all this delicious food:

Bridal Shower Menu:

Bruschetta Board (Homemade Goat’s Milk Ricotta + Tomato Basil) – Goat Cheese, Baguette, Crunchy

Miniature Spinach Quiches – Crunchy

White Bean “Risotto” – Unexpected, Risotto

Grilled Vegetable Panzanella – Bright, Refreshing

Grilled Flank Steak with Strawberry Tomato Compote – Beef, Unexpected

Cucumber Cilantro Cocktails and Grapefruit Margaritas – Refreshing, Bright

Everything turned out really well but the highlight was the homemade cheese. I’ve recently been working on nailing this recipe (which I’ll share with you tomorrow) and while I hate to admit this, it’s unbelievable simple. So when you start making your own cheese, plead ignorance and enjoy all of the praise thrown your way. Because with a little olive oil and some lemon zest, this fresh cheese is simply awesome.

The other highlight was the “risotto”. I wasn’t too keen on cooking up a big batch of steamy, creamy risotto on a hot summer day. But early last week this idea hit me and I’m sure glad it did. White beans took the place of the arborio rice and a creamy feta dressing provided that perfect risotto consistency. With some chopped vegetables, this chilled “risotto” was really fantastic.

So cheers to the bride to be (and her fiance) one more time! Glad I could be part of such a special event!

One Response to Silver Caterers: Back in the Game

  1. […] – One of my most proud Catering Events […]

Leave a Reply

