Spring Reset Day 8: Give Me Some Crunch!

Baked Spring Rolls

Before starting this 10 day journey, Kelly kept warning me of the her hardest part with this type of reset. And it wasn’t about meat, wheat, or dairy. It was all about crunch! Because when you think about it, texture plays an unbelievable role in how much we enjoy food and for the most part, vegetable and even bean based meals tend to be lacking some crispy, crunchy goodness. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Whether it is these kale chips that I’m an idiot for not making more often, or these baked spring rolls from last night, I refuse to be denied the crunch.

And trust me when I say: these spring rolls are absurdly easy to make. In a wok (or a large saute pan) quickly stir fry shredded cabbage and carrots with sliced mushrooms and sliced scallions. I love to shred my own vegetables with my food processor but if you are in a pinch, the “cole slaw” mix in the grocery store is the perfect substitute. With just a tbsp of honey, a few good splashes of tamari, and 1 tsp of chinese five spice, you will have an unbelievable filling for spring rolls, dumplings, or even to simply serve over rice. In this case I used rice paper wrappers gently soaked in warm water until pliable to assemble my spring rolls. Simply add a few small spoonfuls of the filling and roll the wrapper like a thin burrito. Bake in the oven at 375 for about a half hour and you will have a delicious snack or even a main meal to be proud of. And while you could definitely fry these, baking them after brushing with olive oil did a nice job of keeping these light all while adding that necessary crunch.

A day and a half to go and I’m not even sure I want it to end!

One Response to Spring Reset Day 8: Give Me Some Crunch!

  1. […] Baked spring rolls: I made these during my last reset and am actually bummed I didn’t think about them again […]

Leave a Reply

