Spring Reset Day 6: Hungry for Hearty!

Moroccan Lentil Soup

Even after only 6 days, it’s amazing how much my perception of “full” has shifted. Over the first few days without meat, wheat, or dairy I admittedly found myself feeling a bit hungry. But now that were inching towards the one week mark, I’m rarely snacking because I’m rarely hungry. All and all, that’s got to be a good thing…

One of the most exciting things that I’ve noticed is how hearty the meals I’ve been working on truly are. Without slow braised beef or salty pork (don’t think I’m not dreaming of those!) you can indeed make bone sticking, flavor packed dishes. Take this Moroccan Lentil soup as a perfect example. Sauteing diced onions, bell pepper, carrots, sweet potatoes with ginger, cumin, ground coriander, chili powder, and curry develops such an intense and warming flavor profile that is soaked up by the simmering lentils. Many online recipes suggest using water but quite frankly, all that water dilutes those wonderful flavors forcing you to load in the salt. With a good store-bought vegetable stock you can really make this soup a winner!

Interestingly enough, as I enjoyed this wonderful soup with a little salad on the side, I had trouble remembering the last time I cooked lentils. Well with a quick search on the blog I realized this morning that it has been almost two friggin years! What is wrong with me! That’s gonna have to change for sure.

One last tip for soup lovers across the world. Nothing finishes a soup like a nice splash of olive oil and some quality vinegar. Particularly for a hearty soup like this one, the acidity from the vinegar helps keep your palate alive and the olive oil…well, what is better than olive oil.

Check back for the recipe card for this one soon!

Leave a Reply

