Spring Reset: Half Way There

My Weekend's Tree of Temptation

While my overall energy and general sense of health were cruising high throughout the weekend, it was my will power that was severely tested. 3 of arguably the greatest food creations of all time stood in my way of keeping true to the reset. So how the hell did I get passed the trio of pizza, beer, and bagels unscathed? To be honest, I have no idea.

But to be fair, I found the decision to pass on these three favorites to be relatively easy. It’s easy to get hooked on feeling great. And in fact I noticed a pretty interesting tactic my brain imparted without even consulting me. Because I think we’d all agree that there is nothing more intoxicating than the smell of pizza. The aroma follows those pies in a trail of temptation. But this time around, my brain refused to smell it. Now I know I’m exaggerating a bit, but in all honestly, somehow I convinced myself to ignore it. If I made it past the pizza, I knew I would be okay!

But that leads me to the essence of why we’re doing this reset and why indeed it should be called that in the first place. Will I eat pizza again? Of course I will. But sometimes all you need is a reminder of how good you can feel. So by passing on meat, wheat, and dairy we’ve been able to reset our systems and be reminded of all the unbelievably delicious food we have available that makes us feel fantastic. And maybe we just weren’t getting enough of those foods the last few months. Or maybe (and more likely) we were eating and drinking too much of other. As Em said it perfectly last night, “sometimes you need to go to the opposite extreme to find your way back to the middle”.

So five days to go and a few great recipes left to show! And I promise, when I’m back on the booze, the gin cocktail will be worth the wait!

One Response to Spring Reset: Half Way There

  1. Gilly says:

    That Em is so wise!

Leave a Reply

