Low Fat Fail

Shredded Chicken and Coconut Ginger Soup

This shredded chicken and coconut ginger soup looks pretty good huh? Well to be honest, it was just that…pretty good. So why am I posting about it? The shitake mushrooms, red peppers, and onions were great. The shredded chicken and chicken broth that I worked on this past Sunday were even better. And the ginger, garlic, and lime really added a burst of flavor. But one thing was missing: the coconut.

So did I forget to add the coconut? Nope! Instead I fell for the oldest trick in the book. I bought low fat.

To be quite honest, I rarely face this issue; 95% of what I have been buying these days is meat, fish, and veg. But this time, there I was, standing in front of the coconut milk, two cans in hand, mind wrestling over which to buy. 65% less fat! Wowee! Stupid…

The reality is, and we all know this, low fat (particularly for products like coconut milk) means less substance and more water. And trust me, that water doesn’t taste nearly as good as the coconut milk. So would that extra fat really have killed me? Of course not! Particularly because of how balanced and healthy this soup is. Fresh vegetables, homemade chicken broth, shredded chicken and citrus sound great. Just a little bit of richness would have balanced it perfectly. Oh well, there is always next time!

Have you found yourself in a similar predicament? What do you think are the worst low fat substitutes?

Also, don’t forget to vote for the birthday dessert recipe you want me to work on this coming weekend!

One Response to Low Fat Fail

  1. Light cream cheese is probably the worst

Leave a Reply

