More Food Processor Magic!

Apple Cinnamon Scones with Blueberries

Remember growing up when there were two kinds of apples? You had your pick of the red sweet but sorta mealy kind, or the green tart but crunchy kind. And neither was good trade bait at the cafeteria! I know that plenty of you have always loved apples, but for me, it wasn’t until really this year I started to love the fruit. Which is why I’m thrilled to see a handful of varieties still available at the Green Market.

If you haven’t already, I encourage you to take a trip on a Saturday to Union Square and try some apples. Nine times out of ten the farm vendors will have samples available and it’s really fun to try the different options. And if you think the number of options is cool now, you have to do it all again next Fall! But this wouldn’t be all that interesting if I just spoke on eating apples. So it’s the fun trick I stumbled upon this weekend that I really want to share!

I was decided on making scones for the week and I wasn’t sure what flavors to add in. I thought of going savory but then a few apples caught my eye. Apple-cinnamon scones sound good! And then I remembered a really great baking tip for keeping muffins and cakes extremely moist. Apple sauce makes for a great addition to most recipes without overpowering the flavor. Well, I didn’t have apple sauce and I’m not big into buying stuff I know I won’t use often, but I did have a food processor. So I figured I’d give it a whirl!

I guess it shouldn’t be that shocking but the outcome was awesome. I took two apples (you could use whatever variety), cored and diced, and let it run in the processor until it formed the consistency of the apple sauce we all know. Without any sugar added, the apple sauce was so flavorful and delicious. And by substituting a bit of the puree into my scone recipe, the final product was definitely moist, and brimming with flavor.

As a quick warning, this apple sauce will oxidize fairly quickly and turn brown. It may not be the most beautiful color in the world, but the flavor won’t be ruined whatsoever. So if you plan on making the apple sauce in bunches a bit of lemon juice may do the trick.

I love stumbling on great new tips!

Leave a Reply

