Holy Mackerel! It’s Been Two Years!

Pan Roasted Mackerel w/ Acorn Squash and Brussel Sprouts

I really can’t believe it’s been two years! And the only thing more rewarding than writing about my “everything food” experiences, is knowing that you are out there reading it! So thanks for keeping this blog so enjoyable. But beyond the love I have for cooking, and even the joy I get from sharing it, this blog has done wonders for my food variability! Looking back, I know that there have been some overlaps, but it’s amazing what a little creative pressure can do for you and your meals!

So it’s funny that even after two years of blogging and plenty more of cooking, a two week break due to some travel was just enough to knock me out of my culinary comfort. But luckily for me, cooking is just like riding a bike…so here’s for getting right back on! Because after a bit of thought and a little re-organizing this perfect autumn dish was a great way to kick off the third year!

Pan roasted mackerel (roasted with a little bacon fat) paired amazingly with the earthiness of this acorn squash and brussel sprout side. I was really happy to see the acorn squash from the last of the CSA bundles, because well I’ve always told myself I wasn’t much of a fan. Boy was I wrong. A little sweet, a little starchy and pretty much the perfect fall side, with just a little roasted bok choy for lightness and texture, the dish came together to compliment the flavorful fish extremely well. Packed with flavor and damn good for you!

If this dish is any indication, it’s going to be a good third year!

One Response to Holy Mackerel! It’s Been Two Years!

  1. Emily says:

    Congrats on your two-year anniversary of this amazing blog! Keep up the amazing, mouth-watering job!

    Emily

Leave a Reply

