Fruit Color Blind

The best part about taking part in a farm share, has to be the unknown. Week to week, relying on the farmer (and the weather) to pick what’s fresh, it’s been fun speculating what will come next. But even more unknowns lurk within the bundle of produce I take home each and every week. And this watermelon is the perfect example.

For my entire life, produce has been cookie cutter. The expectations of colors and tastes have been developed from years of shopping fruits and veggies in the grocery store. So when it comes to watermelon, huge, seedless, and pink is all I’ve known. And even with the recent availability of “tiny” watermelons at Whole Foods and other grocers, it wasn’t the size of this most recent CSA melon that threw me off. Notice, the inside is not so pink…

This yellow watermelon had some amazing flavor balancing the sweetness I expect with something almost grassy in nature. And I mean that in a good way. Not to say that we should all go out  and demand our watermelons to be yellow but great things are happening with the expanding interest in locally grown produce, and I’m glad I’m along for the ride!

One Response to Fruit Color Blind

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    We got one of those watermelons also and were blown away by the flavor. Absolutely amazing but you’re so right – when I cut into it, it was definitely not what I was expecting.

Leave a Reply

