In a Pickle

Homemade Pickles

I love cucumbers. But what the hell was I supposed to do with 15 of them? Only one thing of course! Because with the influx of spring and summer vegetables, it requires a serious commitment to avoid waste.

Years ago, canning or acidifying was a necessity. These practices have essentially shaped what we now call “processed food”.  It’s got to be one of the greatest, world changing innovations that has ever occurred. And despite the fact that you can easily walk or drive down the street and pick up a can or jar of your favorite summer veggies all year round, canning your own is a seriously rewarding practice making a huge comeback.

So with 15 cucumbers in hand, and a few added ingredients, I gave my first real pickling a go. I decided to make one basic batch of pickling liquid that included water, rice wine vinegar, salt, sugar, and peppercorns. Later I dialed in a few other flavors to make three unique batches. I decided to go the refrigerator wrought as it fit well with my available time, but just remember, pickling or canning requires some serious understanding of safety. In most cases, the safety precautions are probably overboard, but as your mom has said since the day you were born “better safe than sorry”. There are some amazing “home guide” resources online if you are interested in giving pickling a shot!

I can’t wait to give these a taste when I’m back from in town (sorry for the lack of posting as I’m on the West Coast until Tuesday). From traditional dill, to Oaxacan Chile pickles, I had to fight back my urge to pop the top as these cucs need at least ten days for full flavor addition. If all goes well, I think I’ll have to pickle some more of my favorites: tomatoes, asparagus, beets, and even watermelon taste amazing when cured in this way!

2 Responses to In a Pickle

  1. nlag says:

    I really want to try these!

  2. Emily says:

    I want to try these as well! Looks great, Ricky. These would be great to eat on a deck in South Hampton.

Leave a Reply

