All Veggies, Major Flavor

Ratatouille

 Although being a part of my CSA has been really rewarding, yesterday’s pick up was the first I was beyond excited about. It sounds ridiculous but for someone like myself, the Thursday late morning email we receive, is a bit like that feeling you get on Christmas Eve; you know the presents are coming, you just have a few more hours to get through. 

Well let’s just say, this week, I got everything I  had asked Santa for: Zucchini, cucumbers, eggplant, broccoli, carrots, and beets filled this bundle leaving me flooded with ideas for the week’s meals. 

Cooking without meat or fish on some nights is a really good test for me. I love pairing the flavors of vegetables with the richness of beef, or the delicate flakiness of cod, or the comforting flavors of roasted chicken. So when your meal relies only on the flavors of the vegetables themselves, pairing and seasoning are absolutely crucial. For a bit of clarity, all it takes, is to look at a classic… 

Adding some store bought tomatoes (can’t wait for CSA tomato season), I constructed this delicious and eye-catching Ratatouille packed with herbs de provence and olive oil. The layers of eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes meld together to form an amazing punch of flavor. A delicate sweetness with a pop of acidity made this main dish absolutely delicious perfectly complimented by a little salad; I roasted the broccoli, and tossed it with raisins, toasted almonds, and fresh mozzarella. The salt, pepper, and paprika I used to season the broccoli was enough for the “dressing” in this case as the fresh mozzarella added the perfect richness. 

Roasted Broccoli Salad

 Now don’t get me wrong…I’m not about to give up meat. But meals like these are good reminders of how much flavor, texture, and comfort the best vegetable dishes can bring!

Leave a Reply

