Congrats Joe!

At the end of last week two very significant occasions warranting serious celebration took place. The first, the beginning of my CSA (community supported agriculture) weekly bundle pickups brought me a fantastic bounty of vegetables. The sea of green above represents the early stages of the summer farming season and if the freshness and flavors are indication of what is to come, I am in for an awesome few months of eating. But of much more significance, we traveled to Philadelphia to see my younger brother graduate from High School.

He’ll be attending NYU in the Fall and I’d be a liar if I didn’t admit I was pumped to have him in New York. Something tells me I’ll be making “pick up” meals for him fairly frequently.

I’ve actually started to do the same thing for myself more and more recently and my new weekly vegetable bundles are going to make this much easier. One of the toughest parts of the CSA commitment is the pressure to use it all. But that pressure is alleviated by making ready to eat, or ready to heat lunch meals for my work week all while saving myself a little cash. And since I’m not motivated enough to wake up early to prepare my lunch, using my Sundays to whip up a few options seems like the perfect solution.

Greens and Beans

3 Responses to Congrats Joe!

  1. boner says:

    Hey Ricky –

    I’m gonna be consulting the blog for some CSA-themed recipes. Its always alittle nerve-racking trying to use up all the veggies before they go bad.

    Lame move on my part, i put the radishes in the fridge and they got mushy over the weekend. Luckily i was able to sample a few in a salad on Thursday and Friday. Catch you later buddy.

  2. Mia says:

    Congrats, little bro! =)

  3. Yay for CSAs and graduating high school! Jealous Joe will get your cooking on a semi-regular basis starting this fall.

Leave a Reply

