The Mexican Street Cart Burger

Mexican Street Cart Burger

 I so vividly remember the first time I tried mexican street corn. I would have never imagined mayo slathered roasted corn sprinkled with cheese could be one of the greatest food items I had ever tasted. Although now that I’m writing it, I guess I shouldn’t have been that surprised. So now that summer is coming and corn season is just around the bend, street faires and taco stands throughout the city should be expecting me. I’ll be the one drooling in excitement.

Yet despite my love of the Mexican street corn, a meal it is not. Which is why the taco truck is so brilliant. A taco or two, an ear of corn, and a beer…Is there anything better? If you agree, than you are going to want to keep reading….

I had this idea not too long ago when I was salivating over the prospect of corn season. I was grilling up some burgers when it hit me. I needed to find a way to take that street cart taco meal and turn it into a burger! And that I did. This was the most delicious burger I had ever made, maybe ever tasted. I’m normally a purist when it comes to burgers, but this is worth making the exception.

After the success of my homemade breakfast sausage, I decided to grind up 50/50 beef ribeye and pork shoulder to make these chile pepper seasoned patties. These were the perfect blend of rich, salt, and slightly sweet but the toppings were where this burger really took off. A bit of smashed avocado, sliced tomatoes, jalapenos, and this amazing corn salad added that fresh bite reminscent of the very best taco truck meal. For the corn salad, imagine you took that mexican street corn and cut it off the cob, squeezed a bit of lime into the mix and placed it under this delicious burger. Amazing!

Homemade English Muffins

Oh and what better bun than homemade english muffins!

One Response to The Mexican Street Cart Burger

  1. […] – And the mexican street cart burger! […]

Leave a Reply

