Check out that Asinello

When I first started cooking, I had two priorities: cost and simplicity. So it’s no wonder we ate a lot of burritos.  And by burritos I mean some combination of meat, cheese, tortillas, and other choice fillings (peppers and onions, guacamole, sour cream, beans, rice, etc.).  These mexican flavors are always popular and the preparation is pretty straight forward. In fact, I would bet that burritos are some of the most common meals prepared by those learning to cook. But no matter how in to cooking I get, I will always rely on these delicious creations.

So when it comes to these burritos, why have I always stuck to the typical mexican flavors? Why haven’t I realized that making burritos is nothing more than a technique, perfect for just about anything. It was definitely time to branch out; time to make something a little more exciting.

I give you the “Asinello”.

This Italian Burrito (Asinello is Italian for Little Donkey which is English for Burrito) was packed with sautéed lemon basil chicken, a mixture of roasted onions, garlic and broccoli rabe, fresh mozzarella cheese, and a white bean and tomato salsa. Held together with a little balsamic reduction, my Asinello was ridiculously good. So good, we went back to make seconds.

And ironically enough, one of my favorite food blogs had this posted for today. So next time you are in the kitchen, ready to make one of your old stand bys, consider changing it up a bit. You won’t be disappointed!

One Response to Check out that Asinello

  1. Kiley says:

    Oh my goodness. You are putting my little store bought organice spinach and tofu burito to SHAME! I thought it was delicious until I read about Asinello!!!

Leave a Reply

