City Garden

Despite the unexpected dip in temperature the last few days, this is an awesome time of year and gardening is a big part of that. Whether it’s for aesthetics or for sustenance, planting and tending a garden can be an extremely fulfilling hobby, particularly when you are growing some of your own produce. Most people’s plots start out pretty small but seem to grow larger and larger each year. At least for the time being, I don’t foresee my “garden” getting much bigger.

Let’s just say I know people with gardens bigger than my apartment. But that doesn’t mean I can’t get in on the fun. My herb “garden” has lemon thyme, cilantro, and italian parsley. Off to the side I have a little basil plant going as well and I can’t wait to dive into the herbage for upcoming meals. What do you have growing in your garden?

2 Responses to City Garden

  1. Joshyq says:

    oddly I was just working on getting all of my plants over to the right side of the roof. Being that I have the roof I went a little bit overboard. Rick, if you want to plant some stuff or contribute some soil i’ll gladly throw you in to my share of what comes. So far I have; arugula, butter crunch lettuce, jalapenos, serranos, poblanos, habaneros, hungarian chilis, fennel, dill, rosemary, parsley, basil, variety of tomatoes, tomatillos, bell peppers, cilantro, chives, and mint. I know as I said way overboard but it should be an interesting gardening summer.

  2. Jess says:

    I just started a “garden” in my apartment windowsill that’s almost identical to yours. Cilantro, basil, and italian parsley. I love reading about your cooking. If only I had known, I would have forced you to cook sometime during our summer at Drexel!

Leave a Reply

