Breakfast: Eggs and Links

As I’ve mentioned before, I rarely get to eat a solid breakfast in the morning. My scones have been a nice addition but I love making eggs, and eggs just aren’t so suited for a 7:15 train commute. So when I do have a morning with a bit of extra time I try to take advantage.

I’ve enjoyed making omelette since as early as I can remember. I think the reason making omelettes is such a great way to start out cooking is because if you fail, you’ve succeeded in making scrambled eggs. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve started out with the hopes of a 5 ingredient omelette and ended up with a scramble perfect for Diners, Drive ins, and Dives. But I’ve all but mastered the omelette these days and this diced tomato, mushroom, sausage, and gruyère version really hit the spot!

A few links for the weekend…

The Food Network is Scarecrow – This story reminded me of when the Scarecrow lets all the insane criminals out of the asylum in Batman Begins. The only way to prevent the worst from happening is to enclose the Narrows and hope that the lunatics simple destroy themselves. When all settles, Gotham can start over. So the Food Network has created a monster, leaving us with the likes of Paula Deen and the Neely’s (the single most painful half hour of tv ever) and the only way to avoid the worst, leave them to destroy themselves on Channel 50 and start over with…”The Cooking Channel”.

Homemade Peanut Butter – Just in case you missed it from my post, here is the link to Macheesmo’s run down

More Peanut Butter, On a Burger – I’ve been seeing a bunch of these peanut butter burgers around lately. But when Shake Shack starts to offer one, my intrigue goes through the roof. It makes no real sense to me but I definitely want to try it.

Leave a Reply

