Sunday Supper: Low and Slow

No, I haven’t gone crazy. I know last night wasn’t Sunday. But the old adage that soups and stews taste better after a day or two in the fridge  is undeniably true. So sometimes Sunday Supper is served best a few days late.

One of my all time favorite comfort foods is my Mom’s braised brisket. And honestly, if you’d ask for the recipe she probably couldn’t give you one. Sometimes preparing a dish becomes second nature and trust me, her version is fantastic. But recipe or not, there is one crucial rule with brisket. Whether we’re talking perfectly smoked bbq brisket or the melt apart braised brisket, there is only one way to cook it…low and slow.

And low and slow is exactly what makes a Sunday Wednesday Supper so great. Because after hours and hours of cooking, your house tiny apartment is filled with deliciously tantalizing meat perfume; it was tough not to eat this on Sunday. My brisket was braised in a sauce made with fire roasted tomatoes, red wine, leeks, and poblano peppers. The peppers added a bit of heat and created a slight twist on my mom’s tradition. The brisket fell apart, the flavors were fantastic and the dish couldn’t have been better served with twice baked potatoes and roasted brussel sprouts.

Now as the weather gets a bit warmer, I’m hoping to take advantage of the apartment rooftops of a few of my friends. Because the only thing that makes a Sunday Supper better, is when you get to cook it and eat it outside!

2 Responses to Sunday Supper: Low and Slow

  1. Boner says:

    I’m going to make the word meat perfume common vernacular, and I can’t promise its usage to be appropriate. But, thanks for the new vocab word, Ricky.

Leave a Reply

