Wendy’s as Inspiration

I remember going to Wendy’s as a kid. My grandmother loved to take us after a long round of miniature golf, before the movies, or just about any other time she could sneak in a fast food treat. And just like any other kid, I was always thrilled to go. But not for the traditional favorites of cheeseburgers and chicken nuggets. No, when my Bubba ordered my lunch, it was always “two kids super bars”. Two because it was buy one get one and if she was going to eat, it might as well be free.

For those of you who don’t remember, the super bar was Wendy’s version of a salad, pasta, and taco bar all in one. I’m assuming the cost of keep is what drove them to removing the super bars and adding back in some pre made salads. It’s always been a big disappointment of mine. But don’t get too up in arms. My Bubba wasn’t forcing “healthy’ decisions on us. Sure I may have been eating from the salad bar but I’d like to meet the person who would suggest a combination of diced ham, diced hard boiled egg, broccoli, cucumbers, and ranch dressing is healthy.

It sounds crazy! I know! But I still have vivid memories of how much I loved this lunch. With a little side of pasta or some garlic bread (i.e. halves of burger buns), honestly it was delicious. But you wouldn’t be reading this blog if I mixed those five ingredients together and took a picture. At least I hope you wouldn’t.

No, this loaded potato soup comes from another one of my favorite Wendy’s offerings: the baked potato. And anyone who claims they like their potato better without all the fixins’ is crazy. Cheese, and bacon, and just about anything else bring the potato to life just as they do with this soup. Sharp cheddar cheese and thick cut bacon along with yukon gold and red potatoes, rosemary, and thyme are just a few of the flavors that gave this soup it’s great flavor. A much lighter version of the typicals, my loaded potato soup was topped with the perfect accompaniment, roasted broccoli. Just like I used to get at Wendy’s.

I’ve always had the impression that Wendy’s was one of the nicer fast food joints. This isn’t warranted in any real fact, but isn’t perception everything? And I do wish they brought that Super Bar back (even though they probably couldn’t charge $1.99 anymore). Who knows, maybe I’d even add a few more things to my “salad”. On second thought, probably not…

Leave a Reply

