Are there onions in this!

Have you ever thought about your childhood most hated list. And no, I’m not talking about your 6th grade teacher. I mean the foods you just wouldn’t eat. For my older brother it was onions. We still debate whether or not that meatloaf my mom made had them hidden inside. For me it was tomatoes. Couldn’t stand the sight of them (unless of course they were on top of pizza or a bowl of pasta). Luckily I think most of us get over these dislikes but sometimes it takes longer than you’d think.

I also recently realized I never really ate sweet potatoes feeling that they were only filler for an overly sweet dish my grandma made for Thanksgiving (sorry Bubba). But recently the amazing flavors that can be combined with these orange root vegetables have made me a convert. Anytime I can use them, I find a way. Including an amazing addition to a stew as a thickening agent. But this use (unfortunately not seen all that well in the picture) was by far my favorite. Combining shredded sweet potato with shredded cabbage, shredded carrot and scallions, these sesame and soy flavored pancakes worked perfectly with the honey glazed salmon and brussel sprouts. An amazing combination of flavors and textures and unbelievably healthy, without tasting like it.

2 Responses to Are there onions in this!

  1. nlag says:

    My least favorite item was pineapple. It took me until high school to try it again and I couldn’t believe what I was missing! I think we all need to push ourselves on trying new things so we don’t limit ourselves. Plus, Steve eats tons of onions now!!!

    Also, I am with you on the tomato. We all eat a lot of bad tomatoes and should only enjoy them when they are in season.

  2. Susan says:

    I still insist that the meatloaf contained NO onions!!!!

Leave a Reply

