(welcome) back from vacation

IMG_0472

Ah, back from Vacation. Where’d I go? Well nowhere actually. But as you could probably tell from the lack of postings, I needed a break. But that doesn’t mean I stopped cooking. And it certainly doesn’t mean I stopped eating. So I’m back, and as motivated as ever, so here we go…

It’s been a pretty eventful August and one of the most exciting nights came welcoming home our traveling friend Nikki. After four and a half months backpacking through Europe, Nikki was back and I only knew one way to say “Welcome Home”.

I figured the “welcome back” meal should have two purposes. The obvious, being a “glad to have you back” effect but the other more selfishly, “see what you’ll be missing if you go away again” effect. You’ll have to ask Nikki if both effects were felt, but either way, it was an awesome meal capped off with some amazing Momofuko Milk Bar cakes, a few bottles of red wine, and a lot of catching up.

IMG_0475

When I made these vegetable terrines a few weeks back, I knew they would be the perfect appetizer. This time I substituted the goat cheese for some creamy fresh mozzarella and added a few slices of toasted baguette. Fresh, flavorful, and the perfect size starter. Following such a lighter appetizer, I wanted the main dish to be bold. Bold yet simple and familiar. I decided to braise short ribs in a red wine, poblanos, and tomato base sauce. Serving these fall off the bone and melt in your mouth short ribs with mushroom polenta, and buttered leeks gave me exactly what I was looking for. Bold, simple, and absolutely delicious!

Welcome home Nik!

3 Responses to (welcome) back from vacation

  1. Jess says:

    Hey Ricky…random question – doesn’t braising short ribs take forever? I’ve always wanted to do it but, I never have 4 hours that I can leave something cooking. Unless, you have another method?

  2. nlag says:

    The app looks awesome! Can you make it for me at some point?

  3. Spring Break Vacation…

    […](welcome) back from vacation « Can I get a Sample…[…]…

Leave a Reply

