$15/15: You can get a good look at a butchers…

3 meals to go! I couldn’t bare to have the same old chicken soup for lunch today. So rather than scrapping the soup altogether, I used my left over fried barley and made my soup a bit more flavorful. Plus I managed to get a few more veggies in there along with some bonus protein from the egg. Your probably surprised I even have leftovers but like I said in the last post, its amazing how much we have tricked ourselves into feeling hungry. Once you cut back, you need less. Seems counter intuitive but the more you eat, the more you need to eat…

TommyBoy_Still_PK_2087

In the “think about that for a minute” department, my good buddy sent me an article today that I found fascinating. Why do you buy organic groceries if you do? Lets say you walk into the store and there’s a organic banana versus a conventional banana. Assuming you picked the organic what was the driving force? Many people purchase organic produce assuming there is a nutritional advantage. There must be more nutrients and vitamins in the organic. Right?

This article discussed the findings of a study done at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (I laughed as well). The findings they claim to have shown is that organic produce shows little to no nutritional advantage over conventional produce. You might be shocked and you might think you’ve been wasting your money but let me try to convince you otherwise.

First off, this shouldn’t surprise you all that much. The produce is grown essentially the same way with just one key difference. Organic relates to the conditions the produce or meat was grown/raised, without pesticides, without antibiotics or growth hormones. So the argument for organic isn’t simply routed in nutrition. Remember, it isn’t just about the carrot you eat, it’s about the environmental impact that carrot made. Organic farming is widely considered more sustainable and promotes a healthy working relationship with the environment. The nutritional impact may be more readily seen within the meat production component of our farming system but that doesn’t mean we should ignore remaining aspects of our agriculture.

I think what really bothers me about this article is how little of the story they decided to tell. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not claiming to be an expert nor am I trying to deny the results discussed. But how can you or I make informed decisions with just a bit of the information. Luckily, there is a lot of information out there. We just have to go find out.

Blank“Course, I could get a hell of a good luck at a t-bone steak by sticking my head up a bull’s ass, but I’d rather take the butcher’s word for it” -Big Tom from Tommy Boy

Can we trust the butcher?

Blank

Leave a Reply

