$15/15 meals: The Good, the Bad, and the Embarrassing

Mets Game Chicken Sandwich

I’ve been meaning to write about the food at CitiField, the new Mets stadium for a while now. Although today I won’t be discussing the burgers at Shake Shack or the bbq at Blue Smoke. No, tonight I will tell you all about the condiment bar!

Okay let me back up a bit. I’m now six meals down in this challenge and despite feeling a bit hungry in the mid afternoon, I’ve been doing a pretty good job of balancing my diet. As one of the commenters suggested, it would be valuable to know how much food I have remaining as this process goes on. So at the start of day 2 (last night’s dinner) I had arguably more than I started with. By breaking down the chicken before making the stock, I had two breast available for meals. One was gone after the first dinner but I ended up with close to a pound of shredded dark meat and about 8 cups of stock for soup. I also had the majority of my cabbage remaining, along with half of the onion, half of the bag of uncooked barley (plus leftover cooked), ten eggs, and eight of my carrots. I actually used the ends of the carrots (the parts you would normally trash) and the onion “skin” for the stock. Not bad huh?

Back to last night…Knowing that the Mets game is arguably the worst place to go under these current circumstances I knew I couldn’t make it on carrots and cabbage. So I went out and made a supplementary purchase of a ciabatta roll and a vine ripened tomato. Only $3.59 remaining now. The roll was a bit large so I decided I could use the ends for another application. I chopped the ends off and assembled a sandwich with my remaining chicken breast and a cabbage salad, sliced tomato, and red onion. It was really good and it definitely did the trick. My hearty sandwich helped me navigate the multitude of temptations. But then it happened…the seventh inning stretch must have shifted something in my stomach because I was about to give in. I was about to snack on my buddies French Fries. As he was piling on the ketchup, my decision became harder and harder. But luckily the ketchup wasn’t alone at this fixin’ bar.

I made a small salad of shredded lettuce, slices of tomatoes, jalapenos, and the famous New York onion hot dog topping all from the condiment bar! Call me crazy. Call me disgusting. But don’t call me a cheater. At least I hope you don’t. I’ll admit it was a bit embarrassing but certainly better than buying! So I made it through the night unscathed, full and without sacrificing a great night.

I woke up a bit late today and was unable to brew my own coffee, meaning I had to scrap it all together. I know the others would have let me grab a cup on the go, but I’m trying to be strict with myself (especially after my salad debacle). Tomato and Egg ScrambleAs I mentioned previously, the hardest part about this challenge for me is the variety. I get fairly depressed when I eat the same thing multiple times so I couldn’t just wake up and fry some eggs. I made a scramble with some of the leftover tomato from the night before and trekked on, sans coffee. I was thinking about what to do for lunch because I really noticed a lack of energy throughout my afternoon yesterday. I attributed this to the lack of protein in my lunch so today, I brought a big bowl of my homemade chicken stock filled with shredded chicken, carrots and barley. Not only was the soup delicious but it really did the trick of filling me up for the rest of the day. I’m still missing my snacks but at least now I know what I’m up against.

I’m really excited to see how the next few days go. I know I’m starting to cut it close and I refuse to be boring, for my sake and yours. The more interesting the food I eat, the more I consider this really feasible. As I write this, I’m planning my dinner and I can promise you it’s going to be a good one! As I mentioned earlier you can check in with Sarah’s progress at her blog and keep the comments and questions coming! I will be surely adding some of the nutritional information from the week’s worth of eating but I prefer to avoid making a lot of early assumptions. By saving this info for the end, I think I will have a more concrete story to tell so keep checking in! 3 days to go!

One Response to $15/15 meals: The Good, the Bad, and the Embarrassing

  1. Nancy says:

    Well Ricky you certainly are creative. Looks like chicken was really the way to go. Barley was a good addition. I got a good deal on quinoa and have more to add to my chicken soup tomorrow. Also, cantelope is working for me–sweet and refreshing but you have to eat it before it becomes too “fragrant”. Was that a splurge??? Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

