Herbal Concoctions

Rosemary Lemonade with Vodka

Strawberry Basil Lemonade with Vodka

There is something about the summer (although maybe not with the weather we’ve been getting) that screams, “It’s time for a cocktail”. However, I’ve always enjoyed a good glass of wine or a refreshing beer more so than the boring standards using vodka or rum. But do cocktails have to be so one note? Most places now have some really interesting cocktails on their list and one of the more recent trends is the infuzing of fresh herbs. This is nothing new. In fact some of the most classic cocktails are built by muddling herbs with other flavor components. But stepping outside of what we normally consider cocktail herbs can bring out a wonderfully new experience. For example, this Rosemary Lemonade with Vodka balances an otherwise sweet drink with just enough bitterness that keeps you interested until the last sip. Or this basil and strawberry lemonade with Vodka which tastes like it came directly from the garden. For me, these cocktails were truly amazing. They dealt with the main reason I’m not much of a cocktail drinker…the overtly sweet factor. How many rum and coke or vodka crans can you really drink? After testing these more complex concoctions (although amazingly simple to make) for some upcoming events I can’t decide which one I like more! What do you think? Which one sounds better to you…

8 Responses to Herbal Concoctions

  1. Katie says:

    I think its the rosemary that sold me!!!

  2. Josh's Date says:

    This got licker in it right? Can I smoke in hur?

  3. Johanna says:

    both, please!

  4. […] there were cakes and cookies galore for everyone to finish their meal with. Along with that strawberry basil cocktail everyone seemed to truly enjoy the day! Congrats […]

  5. […] completely finished during “seconds”. In fact all the food disappeared along with the rosemary lemonade cocktail I blogged about not too long […]

  6. […] it’s flavor works so well with so many flavors, I try to incorporate it when ever I can (remember these). But one thing I had never tried on my own, at least until last night, was fried basil. It’s […]

  7. […] it’s flavor works so well with so many flavors, I try to incorporate it when ever I can (remember these). But one thing I had never tried on my own, at least until last night, was fried basil. It’s […]

  8. […] – Juice Bar Blends in it’s infancy […]

Leave a Reply

