The Cure All: Chicken Noodle Soup

We know it as the cure all we’ve been eating since we were young kids. Whether it was the flu, the chicken pox, or a bruised ego, the number one remedy was and probably always will be, Chicken Noodle soup. Now this can mean a number of different things depending on who you are and how you were raised. For me it was matzo ball soup (my mom’s is the best in the world and despite plenty of arguing, I’m still fairly confident with that assertion). But regardless of the variety, in noodles and in flavors, the best chicken soup has to come from a homemade broth. And quite frankly this is probably where the medicinal effects come from. Sure there is something extremely nutritious about a homemade broth and the liquid and salt content certainly play a role in balancing us out, but I’m sure, that above all of this, it is the time and effort that goes into a broth that makes the chicken soup so magical….

My chicken noodle soup

Last night I decided to make a variation of the traditional chicken noodle soup I’ve become so accustomed to eating (Pick a Bagel on third Avenue by 23rd st has the best I’ve ever tasted). Simmering the broth with ginger and garlic and a touch of soy, gave this soup a vibrant boost in flavor and adding thinly sliced red onion and carrots right at the end brought out the textural contrast that can often be lacking in many soups. I used orzo pasta which worked great as the noodle portion and did wonders soaking up the flavors of the broth. Lastly, the addition of shredded chicken (straight from the broth making process) and barely sauteed napa cabbage turned my soup into a hearty meal. Garnishing with just a bit of scallions and Siracha (my favorite hot sauce) complimented the subtle asian flavors of the broth perfectly. I may always love my mom’s matzo ball soup, but I may have found my future remedy….If it works for the flu it has to help a hangover…

One Response to The Cure All: Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. sam says:

    Great stuff Silver, I really enjoy your thoughtful reflections and assessments. Your introspective observations and candid remarks really come through in your writing. Similar to the way food inevitably congeals on the plate, in the mouth and belly, your evident interest in the relationship between cuisine and life is a joy to read. Keep it up, I really like where this is going!

    Perhaps the caption of your blog should read: “The Silver Review: ……(Plus a second part, haven’t figured it out yet, but I’ll get back to you)”

Leave a Reply

