mmmm…Spaghetti and Meatball Baby Food

I’ve never been a big lasagna fan. I’m sure I’ve just gotten in trouble with a lot of you, but I’m just being honest. I have a few great memories of deliciously layered pasta (I admittedly love Stouffers Vegetable Lasagna), but most of that is clouded by thoughts of mush and excessiveness. Often the flavors of lasagna become so muddled and the texture becomes so uniform that if I closed by eyes and had to guess what I was eating, I’d at least consider responding, “spaghetti and meatball baby food”. In all honesty however, I’m being a bit unfair. Lasagna can be really delicious and is certainly a great way to feed a crowd. So rather than continuing to bash the beloved lasagna, I decided to make a version that I could truly enjoy…

Turkey Sausage and Arugula Lasagna Roll Ups with Fresh Tomato Sauce served with Sauteed Broccoli

Lasagna Roll Ups

By making individual lasagna roll ups, I got to enjoy what makes lasagna so appealing without losing out on texture and flavor subtleties. The filling was a turkey sausage and arugula base layered with a white wine tomato sauce as well as mozzarella cheese. By choosing to use one pasta sheet per roll, a nice balance of crisp texture and pasta flavor was introduced (I’ve always like the top layer of a lasagna the best). Serving these roll ups with sauteed brocolli and just a bit more sauce underneath left me satisfied and more importantly a bit more optimistic that maybe one day, I too could love lasagna…

img_0119

Leave a Reply

