The times they are a-changin’

Last night I was hanging out with my buddies from The Canon Logic, and the topic of our first roof party of the season got brought up. Towards the end of last summer, we threw a roof party which was one of the first Silver Caterers events. The food and sangria were a big hit and at the end of the night, the band played an acoustic set with the view of the Manhattan Skyline in the background. It was such a big hit we were disapointed it took us so long into the warm season to have it and we’ve been excited for the spring and summer months ever since. On my way home, I got to thinking about the menu for the next party and it didn’t take long for my summer favorites to pop into my head. It’s hard to not love a barbeque feast with the fresh tastes and smells that go along with it. I started to crave the smell of chargrilled food alongside some of my favorite sides (tomato caprese, potato salad, cole slaw, macaroni salad, etc.). It may not be warm enough for this type of feast yet but certainly this past weekend was a good indicator that we are on our way. Last night, I wanted to make a meal that reminded me of what was to come while enjoying what we have in season now. You’d be hard pressed to find a tomato worth sharing a plate with fresh mozzarella and basil but there are some delicious fresh navel oranges available and beets are certainly still in season. Asparagus are just starting to be great this time of the year and although I had no interest in making some of the heavy mayo based, potato salad you used to buying in the prepared food sections, I was in the mood for some of these familiar flavors…

Beet and Navel Orange “Caprese” alongside of Warm Potato and Asparagus Salad with Bacon and Poached Eggs

img_0076

…I think this meal got me even more excited for the long summer nights and the food that goes along with them…

Leave a Reply

