The Proof is in the Bread Pudding…

So as I mentioned in the previous post, last night I was cooking and serving a six course dinner for six. This is a menu that I designed to be somewhat progressive; progressive in the sense that each course would contain one ingredient from the previous course. I wanted to showcase my ability to play with the flavors and textures of the different ingredients. In most cases good food doesn’t require a lot of bells and whistles. I had a blast doing this dinner for a number of reasons. As always, the enjoyment I get from cooking and plating a thought out meal was present and kept me going throughout the long day. But more importantly, last night I was completely in my element. The main reason I got into cooking and catering is because of how passionate I am about dining. And if you have read my posts before, you know I don’t simply mean the food we eat. Dining is about much more. It is about friends and family and about stories and memories. It was a pleasure to cook for a select six that obviously share that same sentiment…

Amuse-bouche:

Pork and Shitake Mushroom Dumpling served with Mushroom Consomme Poured Table Side

First Course:

Shitake Mushroom and Asparagus Salad served with a Poached Egg, Herb Dressing and Crumbled Bacon

Second Course:

Asparagus Soup served with Crab Meat and Fresh Parsley

Main Course:

Lemon Sole Stuffed with Crab Meat served over wilted Mustard Greens with a Lemon and Saffron White Wine Reduction

Sorbet:

Lemon Sorbet served with Homemade Candied Lemon Peels

Dessert:

Banana Bread Pudding

The Banana Bread Pudding does not follow the progressive theme but it was too good to be left off the menu…

Pork and Shitake Mushroom DumplingPork and Shitake Mushroom Dumpling2


Asparagus Soup with CrabmeatAsparagus Soup with Crabmeat2

Sole Stuffed with Crabmeat over Wilted Mustard GreensSole Stuffed with Crabmeat over Wilted Mustard Greens2

Banana Bread PuddingBanana Bread Pudding2

6 Responses to The Proof is in the Bread Pudding…

  1. Nancy says:

    Flavorful and delicious, perfectly paced, skillfully served and yes, a memory shared with friends and family to savor for years to come…a success on every level. Thank you Ricky!

  2. di katsikas says:

    ricky,
    what a fabulous gift you gave nancy and larry,and i felt honored to be chosen as a guest!what can i say..i love food and like you,enjoy the preparation,and the final enjoyment of partaking of a meal w/ good friends,lively conversation and delicious food!from the start there was an explosion of tastes and textures..the dumpling was lite and tasty..the salad of asparagus and mushrooms w/ poached egg-PERFECTION!loved the heat in the asparagus soup and the bits of crab,a nice touch.the filet stuffed w/crab..yum,but the mustard greens and sauce…triple yum!!the lemon sorbet w/ carmalized lemon zest was a great cleanser,and then my favorite part of any meal…dessert!the warm banana bread pudding was to be slowly savored and appreciated.
    kudos to you ricky-start to finish,the portion amounts,the timing of the meal,the continuity and surprises in each course…in my book-you are “TOP CHEF”!thanx!xxoo
    di
    sorry so long winded,but had to cover a spectacular meal!!

  3. resident scavenger says:

    i’m so happy that i got to sit in the “prep” area, graze over the leftovers and share 2 bread puddings with my ravenous partners in crime. and, it was worth getting yelled at when i had that second helping of asparagus soup with crab as a snack the next day.

  4. Kathy Spencer says:

    Hi Ricky,
    What an awesome meal! I was just blown away with the flavors, the presentation, the creativity, and you seem to make it look so easy! I loved so many parts of it, and the parts that still wash over me were the salad..yum…the egg and mushrooms,asparagus – what a combo…the soup..LOVED it (then looked on line to see if I could make it at home..they didn’t look like yours), the bread pudding…quite unbelievable…I want to make that too so I can have it again (and again). I loved your candied lemon peel with the sorbet. I want to make that too…just to munch on! All in all I had a wonderful time, left with my belly quite full and happy. Em is one lucky lady. Thank you!

  5. […] while back I created and served what I called a “progressive dinner“. Each dish contained one ingredient from the previous course. For example, a mushroom and […]

Leave a Reply

