I’ve never met a Scallop I didn’t like…

Well thats not completely true. In fact, theres nothing worse than a bad Scallop. If its overcooked, dried out, or of the Bay variety, I’ll pass. But when done well and cooked in the simplest of fashions, the Scallop is probably my favorite food. You know that annoying question, “if you could only eat one thing the rest of your life, what would it be?”….well my answer would be Scallops. Unfortunately there are two major issues with Scallop preparation (at least in my opinion). The first is a fairly simple problem that I mentioned just above. Scallops don’t need to be cooked much. In fact, they are delicious as ceviches. But so often in restaurants or even in the homes of others, I have been served overcooked scallops. The second major complaint is when people overwhelm the scallop with a bold sauce. The subtle flavor of the scallop is perfect on its own, and masking it is kind of a shame. The perfect scallop to me is one that has been sprinkled with salt and pepper and seared in a cast iron pan for 2-3 minutes per side. What your left with is the full package: great flavor, great texture, and an amazing appearance. Its the perfect canvas for a number of different subtle flavor compliments. This dish I made last night was my showcase of the Scallop. Pairing it with a multitude of flavors and textures proved to me once again, that if I could only eat one thing the rest of my life….

Trio of Scallops: Pan Seared Scallops served with Sauteed Dandelion Sprouts w/ Fresh Lemon Juice, Roasted Beets and Navel Orange Salad with Balsamic Drizzle, and Creamed Corn with Jalapenos and Prosciutto Chip

Trio of Scallops

2 Responses to I’ve never met a Scallop I didn’t like…

  1. smg says:

    i would like the one on the right the best i think, but i would eat them all and ask for more. we were talking about “last meals” this weekend – i think bc it was on top chef? anyway, i concluded that mine would be pizza. obvs, not just any pizza. probably bleecker st. pizza or totonos (duh).

Leave a Reply

