Creative Influences

I have never considered myself much of an artist. In fact, most twelve year olds can probably draw better than I can. This might be why I have surrounded myself with a bunch of talented creators. Last night I had a few of my good friends over for dinner, one of whom has started to make some serious strides as a painter. Nikki Katsikas, who just won the “judges favorite” award at the GEISAI Miami art show, has been coming over and testing my food since she spent her days in NYC at SVA. I always try and come up with something interesting when she is coming over; my canvas being the plate in which I present the meal.  Last night was no exception.

I’ve never been a big fan of overtly sweet components in a savory meal but when incorporated in a subtle manner, the outcome can be really special. The platform of the dish I made last night was a raspberry and habanero chutney. The color was a vibrant red and the flavor was a great balance of sweet and spicy. Layered on top of the chutney was a spice rubbed pork loin wrapped in bacon along with pan fried polenta rounds. The dish was an interesting balance of color, texture, and flavor and although there were no awards to be had, the reviews were great! 

Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin w/ Polenta Rounds and a Seasoned Greens Salad

To take a look at some of Nikki’s work check out her website… nikkikatsikas.artspan.com

One Response to Creative Influences

  1. Nikki says:

    One day when I’ve got some serious dough, I got dibs on Ricky as my personal chef

Leave a Reply

