Sometimes you just want a grilled cheese

Last night I decided that even though it was beyond cold, I was going to walk home. I live about a mile and a half from work and often walking home is like having a glass of wine at the end of the day; although that never seems to stop me from having an actual glass as well. It is also a great time to be creative about what I’d like to make for dinner. I used to go into the stores with a thought out plan but recently I’ve been challenging myself to come up with something on the fly. There are so many great options in New York as far as specialty shops and grocery stores that I revel in the prospect of finding something new and interesting to make. Except last night, no matter how long I thought, nothing new and creative was coming to mind. Maybe it was the lingering remains of that over the top basil sauce I had for a dissapointing Thai lunch. Or maybe it was the fact that I was too cold to be challenging my brain like this. Either way, I had almost given up. I was resolved to walk home in defeat and order some pizza; that delicious combination of crust and cheese with tomato and basil. There it was! I certainly wasn’t about to start making my own pizza at that point but luckily the brain started functioning again. I was no longer defeated….in fact I swept through Whole Foods like a culinary genious. Okay so I’m being a little ridiculous at this point but I’ll tell you this much: Its been a while since I had a grilled cheese that satisfied me like this one….

Grilled Mozzarella with Tomato Basil and Balsamic Reduction

Grilled Mozzarella and Fontina with Tomato, Basil, and Balsamic Reduction with a Strawberry, Walnut, and Goat Cheese Salad

2 Responses to Sometimes you just want a grilled cheese

  1. Kris says:

    I have to say one of my favorite things to eat every once and a while is a great grilled cheese, then again who doesn’t. I believe that some of the best foods of the world are as simple as grilled cheese. All you need is a some nice pieces of bread and good cheese, whatever your preference. Another version is very Italian way take the bread, mozzarella, basil and tomato dip it into an egg mixture(egg, nutmeg, thyme, heavy cream and salt) and make it just like you would a regular grilled cheese, tremendous. Anyway the point being I’m glad you posted about grilled cheese a very simple food that brings you back to childhood and is still great as an adult.

  2. […] are plenty of ways to jazz up this perfect pair. Like a grilled mozzarella and fontina sandwich with basil, tomato, and balsamic reduction. Or maybe a tomato and fennel soup with fresh orange […]

Leave a Reply

