Brussel Sprouts

For years I hated brussel sprouts. You could ask me why and still have would have no solid answer for you. The only thing I can come up with is that If there was one vegetable we think were supposed to hate, it may be the brussel sprout. All this changed for me a few years back when I heard this phrase…”if you roast them correctly, they taste like delicious french fries”. I love french fries and I haven’t met a person who hasn’t. So the next time I went to the grocery store (now is the perfect time for brussel sprouts by the way) I picked up a bunch and went home to roast them. Oven on at 375, trimmed and cut the sprouts in half, tossed in olive oil and salt and pepper and about 30-40 minutes later I had the most delicious french fries. Okay, so the french fry comparison is not really valid. Nothing tastes like french fries. But regardless of that fact, they tasted amazing. Just a little bitter and a great texture of creaminess and crunchiness (I believe this is why the french fry reference was made). Further proof that often the best tasting dish comes from the simplest of preparation. Unfortunately I do not have a picture to share but last night I made an amazingly earthy pasta dish. It was perfect for a chilly night. Penne with Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Shitake Mushrooms and Bacon in a sage infused reduction is definitely a new favorite.

Leave a Reply

